The Recovery Fund

The Recovery Fund is administered by NSCB
and is supported by assessments paid by all
licensed contractors and sub-contractors
who perform residential construction.

The Residential Recovery Fund may cover
up to $35,000 in damages, however it is a
measure of last resort and may not cover all
costs of damages to your dwelling.

NOTICE TO HOMEOWNERS
(NRS 624.520):

Payment may be available from the
Residential Recovery Fund if you are
damaged financially by a project performed
on your residence pursuant to a contract,
including construction, remodeling, repair
or other improvements, and the damage

resulted from certain specified violations
of Nevada law by a contractor licensed in
this State. To obtain information relating
to the Residential Recovery Fund and filing
a claim for recovery from the Recovery
Fund, please contact NSCB at either of its
locations.
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About the Board

The Nevada State Contractors Board
(NSCB) governs contractor licensing for
the State’s construction industry. Contact
us for information you need about a
contractor’s license and bond.

The Board also has important consumer

information and complaint forms that can
be downloaded or sent to you by calling
one of the Board’s offices.

Get information from NSCB before you:

Hire a contractor.
Sign a contract.
Pay for work and repairs.

Visit our website to learn more about the
Residential Recovery Fund.

Residential
q¢; Recovery Fund

Southern Nevada Office Northern Nevada Office
2310 Corporate Circle, Ste. 200 9670 Gateway Drive, Ste. 100
Henderson, NV 89074 Reno, NV 89521

Phone: 702-486-1100 Phone: 775-688-1141

Fax: 702-486-1190 Fax: 775-688-1271
If you believe the contractor you hired has performed substan- h’] evad a
dard work, you may file a complaint with NSCB. Complaint state contractors board

forms can be downloaded from our website at: www.nscb.nv.gov .
[ ey Ty Measure up...use licensed contractors.




What to Expect After
Filing a Claim

Once a claim is opened, the homeowner who
has filed the complaint can expect to be con-
tacted by the staff of the Contractors Board.
Then, the following steps will be taken:

o

An investigator will be assigned to
investigate the claim.

Once the claim is investigated and
validated, the Recovery Fund Committee
will hear the claim on the next available
hearing date.

f’iling a Claim

The homeowner will be notified 30 days

Although verbal contracts are valid in the prior to the hearing.
State of Nevada, the terms and scope of ° A public hearing will be held.
.. ‘(Ijv]OI:k to bi perforn:eg Ere VG’:K hard tto pl;ove. °  Within 10 working days after the
Ehglble Homeowners alms not supported by written contrac Recovery Fund Hearing date, the

and scope of work may not be approved by
the Residential Recovery Fund Committee.
Successful claims establish the damage done

Contract with a Nevada State licensed to your home and require: .

contractor. ° A complete claim form.

homeowner will receive by mail a
Decision and Order, which documents
the amount of the award.

To be eligible to receive Residential Recovery
Funds you must:

Approximately 45 days after the date of
the Decision and Order, the homeowner

Own and occupy the single family ° A copy of the contract, any change orders, may make arrangements to pick up their
residence where damages were incurred credits, refunds or discounts. award check.

during construction, remodeling, or repair " Copies of the front and back of any checks

work. paid to the contractor.

File a complaint with the Board within °

Proof of any cash payments to the

four years of completion of services or contractor and signed receipts.

within two years if you have obtained a .
If applicable, a copy of the perfected or

judgement. . .
satisfied lien the contractor may have filed
Demonstrate to the Contractors Board loss on your home. q
or damage caused by a licensed contractor. . . .
Any additional documentation the Board n evad -

requests which supports your claim. state contractors board




