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LICENSE APPLICATION 
RESIDENTIAL RECOVERY FUND ASSESSMENT  

Residential Recovery Fund: Chapter 624 of NRS was amended by the Nevada State Legislature in 1999 by enacting a residential 
recovery fund. Effective October 1, 1999, each residential contractor is required to pay an assessment to the Fund at time of issuance 
of the license, and with the annual renewal of the license.  Under the Act, if the owner / occupier of a single family residence is 
damaged financially by a project performed on their residence pursuant to a contract, including construction, remodeling, repair or other 
improvements, and the damage resulted from certain specific violations of Nevada law by a licensed Nevada contractor, the 
homeowner may apply for payment from the recovery fund.  

This Fund is created from assessments of contractors who participate in the construction, remodeling, repair or improvement to 
residential housing. 

Who Must Register With The Fund: Each licensee who will be providing “qualified services” must register with the Fund by submitting 
the required assessment. “Qualified services” are defined below.  Each licensee must either register with the Fund or certify that he is 
exempt from registration. 

Residential Contractor: NRS 624.450 defines a residential contractor as a contractor who is licensed pursuant to this chapter (NRS 
624) and who contracts with the owner of a single family residence to perform qualified services.  

Qualified Services: NRS 624.440 defines qualified services as any construction, remodeling, repair or improvement performed by a 
residential contractor on a single family residence occupied by the owner of the residence. 

Biennial Assessment: The assessment on each license is based on the monetary license limit.   
1. If your license limit is $1,000,000 or less you are required to pay a biennial assessment of $80. 
2. If your license limit is more than $1,000,000 but not unlimited you are required to pay a biennial assessment of $200. 
3. If your license limit is “Unlimited” you are required to pay a biennial assessment of $400. 

You are required to submit the assessment amount listed above based on the approved monetary limit, unless otherwise 
exempt. Before this license can be issued, you must submit the residential recovery fund amount assessed, or the completed 
Certificate of Exemption.   

 
CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION FROM RESIDENTIAL RECOVERY FUND 

AFFIDAVIT OF NON-RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTOR 
 

Applicant / Licensee: _________________________________________________________  
       (Use legal business name)  
Email Address: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
I being first duly sworn declare under penalty of perjury as follows: 
 
 I am authorized to sign this Certificate of Exemption from Registration on behalf of the above named licensee. 

 I hereby certify that the above named licensee will NOT be providing qualified services, as defined in NRS 624.440, and is not 
required to register with the Residential Recovery Fund as set forth in the provisions of NRS 624. 

 I acknowledge that false certification of exemption from registration and the Fund may result in the loss of the above named 
licensee’s license and possible criminal prosecution. 

Dated: ______________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________  
(Signature of Principal or Owner) 
 
_______________________________________________ 
(Print Name) 
 
 
 

For Office Use Only: 
License #_________________ 
 
 

This Affidavit Must Be Notarized. 
Subscribed and sworn to before me  
 
This __________day of _____________, 20 ______ 
 
______________________________________ 
Notary Public in and for: 
    
County of ___________ State of __________ 



NOTICE REGARDING ENACTMENT OF RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION RECOVERY FUND 
 
A RESIDENTIAL RECOVERY FUND WAS ESTABLISHED BY THE 1999 SESSION OF THE NEVADA LEGISLATURE.  
AS OF OCTOBER 1, 1999, EACH RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTOR IS REQUIRED TO PAY AN ASSESSMENT WHEN 
THEY RECEIVE THEIR CONTRACTORS LICENSE, AND AT THE TIME OF LICENSE RENEWAL.  FOLLOWING ARE 
ANSWERS TO SOME COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS REGARDING THE RECOVERY FUND AND HOW IT MAY 
AFFECT YOU. 
 
THE LAW MAY BE FOUND IN NEVADA REVISED STATUES, CHAPTER 624.400 – 560. 
 
WHAT IS THE RECOVERY FUND? 
 
THE RECOVERY FUND OFFERS PROTECTION FOR NEVADA HOMEOWNERS WHO CONTRACT WITH LICENSED 
CONTRACTORS AND, UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, ARE HARMED BY THE FAILURE OF THAT CONTRACTOR 
TO PROPERLY PERFORM QUALIFIED SERVICES. 
 
WHEN CAN HOMEOWNERS START SUBMITTING CLAIMS? 
 
COMPLAINTS OR CLAIMS BY NEVADA HOMEOWNERS SEEKING RECOVERY FROM THE FUND MAY BE FILED 
WITH THE BOARD ON OR AFTER JULY 1, 2001. 
 
WHO CREATED THE RECOVERY FUND? 
 
THE RECOVERY FUND LAW WAS ENACTED BY THE 1999 SESSION OF THE NEVADA LEGISLATURE. 
 
HOW IS THE RECOVERY FUND ACCOUNT FUNDED? 
 
RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTORS MUST PAY AN ANNUAL ASSESSMENT TO THE STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD 
BASED ON THE MONETARY LICENSE LIMIT. 
 
HOW MUCH WILL IT COST?  
 
$80 BIENNIALLY IF THE LICENSE LIMIT IS NOT MORE THAN $1,000,000   
$200 BIENNIALLY IF THE LICENSE LIMIT IS MORE THAN $1,000,000 BUT LIMITED   
$400 BIENNIALLY IF THE LICENSE IS UNLIMITED   
 
HOW IS RESIDENTIAL CONTRATOR DEFINED? 
 
NRS 624.450 DEFINES A RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTOR AS A CONTRACTOR WHO IS LICENSED PURSUANT TO 
NRS 624 AND WHO CONTRACTS WITH THE OWNER OF A SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCE TO PERFORM QUALIFIED 
SERVICES. 
 
WHAT DOES THE TERM “QUALIFIED SERVICES” MEAN? 
 
NRS 624.440 DEFINES QUALIFIED SERVICES AS ANY CONSTRUCTION, REMODELING, REPAIR OR 
IMPROVEMENT PERFORMED BY A RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTOR ON A SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCE OCCUPIED 
BY THE OWNER OF THE RESIDENCE. 
 
WHAT IF I DON’T PERFORM RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION? 
 
A LICENSEE WHO DOES NOT PERFORM QUALIFIED SERVICES AS DEFINED IN NRS 624.440, MUST SUBMIT A 
COMPLETED CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION. 
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