STATE CONTRACTORS’ BOARD TAKES DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST
SEVEN CONTRACTORS

LAS VEGAS, NV — At its meeting April 24 and 25, 2001, the Nevada State Contractors’ Board

adjudicated cases against seven licensed contractors.

Primack Homes, license number 39359 (Residential and Small Commercial) based out of Las
Vegas, NV, was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 624 for failure to pay
for materials and services; failure to establish financial responsibility; and failure to notify the Board of

a change of address. The Board revoked the license of Primack Homes.

Champion Homes, license number 37853 (Residential and Small Commercial) and Manley
Development Inc., license number 36387 (Residential and Small Commercial)based out of
Henderson, NV were found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 624 for failure to
pay for materials and services; failure to cooperate in the investigation of a complaint; failure to
establish financial responsibility; and failure to keep in force a bond or cash deposit. The Board
suspended the licenses of Champion Homes and Manley Development Inc. for 90 days, ordered

licensees to take corrective action, and assessed licensees the cost of investigation.

The Board summarily suspended the license of Deserae General Contractors, license number
36998 (Residential and Small Commercial), based out of Pahrump, NV. The Board acted under a
provision of the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 624.291 which gives the Board authority to suspend
the license of a contractor without a hearing if the board finds, based upon evidence in its possession,
that the public health, safety or welfare imperatively requires summary suspension of the license.

L.T.D. Builders, license numbers 33260 (Carpentry) and 40324 (Residential and Small Commercial),
based out of Las Vegas, NV was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 624
for failure to include monetary limit on a contract or proposal. The licensee was assessed the cost of

the investigation and a letter of reprimand will be placed in licensee’s file for one year.

Empire Electric, license number 39208A (Electrical) based out of Las Vegas, NV was found in
violation of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 624 for failure to pay for materials and services;
failure to cooperate in the investigation of a complaint; and failure to establish financial responsibility.
The Board revoked the license of Empire Electric.



Stokes Underground Consulting L.L.C., license number 43592 (General Engineering) based out of
North Las Vegas, Nevada was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 624 for
failure to pay for materials and services; failure to establish financial responsibility; and failure to keep
in force a cash bond or deposit. The Board revoked the license of Stokes Underground Consulting
L.L.C.

The Nevada State Contractors Board offers the following helpful tips for consumers when dealing with

contractors:

10 TIPS FOR MAKING SURE YOUR CONTRACTOR IS ON THE LEVEL

1. Hire only licensed contractors.

2. Check the contractor’s license number by calling 1-702-486-1100 in southern

Nevada or 1-775-688-1141 in northern Nevada or doing a License Check

by visiting our website at: www.state.nv.us/nscb/.

Get three references, and review past work.

Get at least three bids.

Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the terms.
Pay 10% down or $1000, whichever is less if a deposit is required.

Don't let payments get ahead of work. Keep records of payments.

Don’t make the final payment until you're satisfied with the job.
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Don’t pay cash.
10.Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project.

The Nevada State Contractors’ Board is committed to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare through licensing and
regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to disciplinary action by the Board for
failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing contractors. Violations may result in Board action against
the contractor’s license. The State Contractors’ Board has the power to regulate contractors and discipline licensees who violate NRS
624. Disciplinary action may consist of a fine of up to $10,000 per offense, order corrective action, suspension, revocation or other

action.

The Board will convene next in Las Vegas, NV on May 9, 2001



