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Contractors Board Stings Unlicensed Contractors
Homeowners Warned to Hire only Licensed Contractors

During a recent sting operation conducted February 28" through March 2™ in Las Vegas, criminal
investigators assigned to the Board’s Special Investigations Unit issued (14) citations for unlicensed
contracting. The violations included NRS 624.700 (engaging in business without a license), and NRS
624.720 (unlawful advertising). Investigators focused on unlicensed contractors who advertised their
services in the classified section of local newspapers, circulated business cards and fliers. Among those
cited were painters, landscapers (including synthetic lawn installers), as well as those who work with

masonry and tile.

Investigators chose a location in which they could act as the homeowners. They scheduled appointments
with suspected unlicensed contractors for projects such as landscaping and cement work. Upon arrival,
the investigators would verify that the individuals were not licensed. The investigator then informed them
of the operation and issued the citation. The NSCB plans to increase the number of stings throughout the

state as part of its Proactive Investigations Program.

Those cited will appear in justice court for hearing within the next 60 days. NRS 624 makes contracting
without a license a Misdemeanor for the first offense, a Gross Misdemeanor for the second offense, and a

Class E Felony for the third offense.

The NSCB urges consumers to hire only licensed contractors. Consumers can verify contractors’ licenses
and obtain helpful tips for working with contractors by calling (775) 688-1141 in northern Nevada or
(702) 486-1100 in southern Nevada. Licenses can be verified 24 hours a day by logging on to

WWW.nsch.state.nv.us.
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The NSCB has information to help consumers manage construction projects. The Home Improvement
Bill of Rights is a document that helps homeowners identify their rights and responsibilities when
contracting for repairs. There is also available a Job Management Kit that shows homeowners which

documents to keep and provides helpful tips and a receptacle for important papers relating to the project.

The Contractors Board suggests the following ten tips when hiring contractors:

1. Hire only licensed contractors.

2. Check the contractors’ license number by calling the Nevada State Contractors Board at
(775) 688-1141 in northern Nevada or (702) 486-1100 in southern Nevada or by doing a license
check on our website, www.nsch.state.nv.us.

Get three references and review past work.

Get at least three bids.

Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the terms.
For pool contracts, pay 10% down or $1,000 - whichever is less, if a deposit is required.
Don’t let payments get ahead of the work. Keep a record of all payments.

Don’t make a final payment until you're satisfied with the job.

Don't pay cash.

0. Keep ajob file of all papers relating to your project.
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