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Look before you leap. 

If a deal sounds too good to be 
true, it probably is.

There’s no such thing as a free 
lunch.

Clichés, for sure, but there is a 
lot of truth in these time-honored 
proverbs. They are especially 
apropos when it comes to senior 
citizens and home repair and 
improvement projects.

“Con artists often target older 
Nevadans, assuming they have 
disposable income and are more 
trusting and empathetic than other 
potential victims,” explains Nevada 
State Contractors Board Executive 
Officer Margi A. Grein.

She warns seniors to always insist 
on a detailed, written contract when 
hiring someone to work in, on, or 
around their home. Do not sign a 
contract you do not fully understand 
or agree with its provisions. 
Include construction milestones, 
with amounts or percentages of 
the total cost to be paid when 
each milestone is reached. Put all 
changes to the original agreement 
in writing; include additional costs 
and new deadlines.

Common scams targeting older 
homeowners include “today 
only” pitches from door-to-door 
salespeople. They often offer 
“discounts” available for a short 
time because they have leftover 
materials from a job just completed.

Another ploy favored by thieves 
include collecting large down 
payments for supplies, then 
disappearing before completing 
any work. Some criminals work in 
teams, gaining access to a person’s 
home. Once inside, one crook 

engages the victim in conversation 
while the other asks to use the 
bathroom. Once out of sight, the 
fake contractor goes in search of 
cash and jewelry.

To protect yourself, Grein says 
residents should never allow 
someone who comes to the door 
unannounced to come inside. 
Resist pressure to have work 
performed immediately. Once 
you have assessed your repair 
and maintenance needs, obtain 
references from friends and solicit 
bids at least three bids from 
licensed Nevada contractors.

Anyone soliciting contracting 
business in Nevada should, by 
law, carry a “pocket card” that 
includes the company name, 
license number, trade classification 
and expiration date. It’s also a good 
idea to verify an individual has an 
active Nevada Business License 
with the Secretary of State’s office, 
especially when they’re performing 
work under $1,000 that does not 
require a contractor’s license.

Verify a contractor’s license online:  
www.nscb.nv.gov, or by calling our 
offices at 775-688-1141 or 702- 
486-1100.

Beware of home repair scammers
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The Nevada State Contractors Board’s 
Residential Recovery Fund Subcommittee met on 
November 14 and awarded more than $107,000 
to homeowners damaged by licensed contractors. 
Ten of the 11 claimants received compensation 
for an average award of just more than $10,000.

One claimant received the maximum award 
of $35,000 after filing a claim with the Board 
against a contractor whose license was revoked 
for failure to establish financial responsibility 
and committing a fraudulent or deceitful act, 
among others. According to Board files, an 
equipment rental company placed a lien on the 
complainant’s property after the contractor failed 
to pay for machinery. 

Three homeowners received a total of $40,370 
($20,000, $18,000 and $2,370) after the Board 
found that no work was performed by the then-
licensed contractor after taking payments for 
kitchen and condominium remodeling projects. 
That company had its residential and small 
commercial license revoked in 2016 for – among 
other findings – failure to prosecute a project 
with reasonable diligence and substandard 
workmanship and its plumbing and heating 
license taken away in 2018 after the Board 
substantiated similar allegations.

Two claimants who had entered into 
contracts with a renewable energy contractor 
received $11,700 and $6,250, respectively, for 
down payments on solar batteries that were 
never installed. The company, whose electrical 
contracting license was revoked in 2017, was 
found to have abandoned a construction project 
and failed to comply with the terms of a contract. 
Another homeowner was awarded more than 
$18,000 at July’s Recovery Fund hearing.

Since the beginning of the fiscal year on July 
1, the Recovery Fund Committee has awarded 
nearly $200,000.

“Owners of single-family residences should 
always use licensed Nevada contractors for 
home repair or improvement projects to afford 
themselves the opportunity to be eligible for 
financial recourse in the event their project 
doesn’t go as planned,” said NSCB Executive 
Officer Margi Grein. “The State Legislature 
established the Residential Recovery Fund in 
1999 to give homeowners additional protections, 
and it has since awarded more than $11 million 
to financially harmed individuals.” The Recovery 
Fund is available to Nevada owners of single-
family residences who conduct business with 
licensed contractors for the performance of any 
construction, remodeling, repair or improvement 
project. Owners must occupy the residence to 
qualify. An applicant’s eligibility to receive funds 
is determined after an investigation is conducted 
by NSCB.

Nevada Revised Statutes 624.520 requires 
contractors performing residential work to 
provide homeowners information regarding the 
Residential Recovery Fund in the residential 
contract.

The Residential Recovery Fund was 
established in 1999 by the Nevada State 
Legislature to provide owners of single-family 
residences who have been damaged by a licensed 
contractor’s failure to appropriate execute 
a contract an administrative avenue to seek 
financial recourse.  

The fund awards up to $35,000 per claim 
Recovery Fund may apply within four years after 
the completion services or within two years upon 
obtaining a judgment from the court. 

Since 2001, ore than 1,300 claimants - some 
80 percent of claims filed - have been awarded 
money from Residential Recovery Fund,  total of 
nearly $11 million.

Recovery Fund awards over $100K
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(NewsUSA) - Lighting becomes more im-
portant as people age. According to the American 
Lighting Association, with each passing year, ev-
eryone requires more light to see properly.

Terry McGowan, director of engineering for 
the ALA, says, "Older eyes experience two impor-
tant changes."

First, the amount of light required to sustain 
visual performance increases with age. Research 
shows that a 60-year-old needs twice as much 
light as a 30-year-old.

Second, with time, human eyes become more 
sensitive to glare. This can seem like a bit of a 
Catch-22, as more light can often result in in-
creased glare. That's what makes the quality of 
light more important as you grow older.

With many baby boomers reaching their mid-
60s, homeowners should consider user age as a 
factor in their home lighting design. It is easy to 
enhance the visual performance and enjoyment 
for baby boomers and older folks with a few sim-
ple lighting adjustments:

• • Turn on one or two table lamps while watch-
ing TV to reduce the contrast between the 
bright screen and the surrounding darkness.

• • Use a torchiere for uplighting as well as down-
ward illumination for versatility. Look for a 
fixture with a separate task light attached or 
one with a glass bowl at the top to shine some 
light downward.

• • Have a task light that can be directed or piv-
oted.

In addition to providing sufficient light, prop-

er lighting design is essential to human health.

“As people get older, it isn't just the amount 
of light, it is also the color of the light and when 
it is applied, that is key to regulating things such 
as circadian rhythm and REM sleep cycles," says 
McGowan.

Growing research indicates that light can im-
pact human health in numerous ways, including 
susceptibility to Alzheimer's disease. The ques-
tion is: What exactly can aging people do to help 
their eyes and health?

The answer, according to McGowan, is to en-
joy bright days and dark nights. "If you're older 
and don't sleep very well, expose yourself to 
bright light, such as daylight, early in the morning 
... a walk outside will do it ... and sleep in a dark 
room at night. That will do everything required to 
regulate your circadian rhythm," says McGowan.

Protect vision with adequate lighting
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Contact NSCB!

www.nscb.nv.gov

RENO
5390 Kietzke Lane
Suite 102
Reno, NV 89511
775-688-1141

HENDERSON
2310 Corporate Circle
Suite 200
Henderson, NV 89074
702-486-1100

Unlicensed person targets seniors
A member of the Nevada 

State Contractors Board’s “10 
Most Wanted” list of unlicensed 
contractors has been sentenced 
to at least 6 ½ years in jail for 
crimes against northern Nevada 
residents, many of them seniors. 
Lucas Hunter Schopper learned 
his fate at a sentencing hearing 
in the Second Judicial Court in 
Reno on January 16. Judge Da-
vid Hardy ordered Schopper to 
spend 79 to 198 months in cus-
tody and pay court costs, fees, 
penalties, investigative costs 
and restitution to his victims.

He pleaded guilty in October 
to three felony charges: forgery, 
theft and crimes against a per-
son over the age of 60.

Three cases involved home-
owners aged 75 and over. Each 
paid Schopper - who used a fake 
contractor’s license number - 
50 percent down payments to-
taling more than $36,000. All 
three cancelled their contracts 
when the Contractors Board no-
tified them that Schopper was 
unlicensed. One, who paid by 

credit card, was able to reverse 
the charge. Schopper refunded 
a second victim only $4,000 of 
the more than $14,000 paid. 

Schopper, whose contrac-
tor’s license was revoked by 
the Contractors Board in 2009, 
continued to perform remod-
eling, landscaping, and other 
home improvement projects 
that require a valid Nevada 
contractor’s license. His crimi-
nal record began shortly after 
his license was taken away. He 

pleaded guilty to similar charg-
es in 2010, 2012 and 2015.

Additional charges are 
pending against Schopper, in-
cluding one in which the alleged 
60-year-old victim claims to 
have paid more than $34,000 
and received $10,000 in mate-
rials and labor.

NSCB is urging anyone 
who feels they may have been 
scammed by Schopper to con-
tact the NSCB Unlicensed Con-
tractor Hotline: (775) 850-7838 
as soon as possible. 

The Board encourages any-
one looking to have work per-
formed on their home to always 
verify a contractor’s license 
number on the Board’s website 
or contact the Board directly at 
(775) 688-1141 before signing 
a contract.  Homeowners who 
hire licensed contractors may 
be eligible for the Board’s Resi-
dential Recovery Fund, which 
may award up to $35,000 in 
financial recourse to damaged 
homeowners.

LUCAS SCHOPPER

http://www.nscb.nv.gov

