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BUSINESS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM REFERENCE GUIDE

*PLEASE NOTE**
The Contractors Board is not affiliated with and does not endorse or recommend any contractor

licensing schools or services.

The information provided in the Business Assistance Program Reference Guide is not all-
inclusive. Applicants should review specific instructions and requirements as noted directly on
the Nevada contractor’s license application. Applicants are encouraged to contact the Board
directly with any questions or concerns regarding the application process.

Obtaining a Nevada Business ID
(Nevada State Business License)

Nevada Secretary of State
www.nvsilverflume.gov/startBusiness
(800) 450-8594

The Nevada Business ID is an 11-digit
number that can be found on your Nevada
State Business License and will be required
on the application for a contractor’s license.

License Classifications

Classification A: General Engineering &
Related Subclassifications:
NAC 624.140-150

Classification B: General Building &
Related Subclassifications:
NAC 624.160-170

Classification AB: General Building and
General Engineering:
NAC 624.180

Listing of all ‘C’ Classifications & Related
Subclassifications:
NAC 624.190 — 624.585

Primary Classification (A, B, AB, C-1, C-
2, C-3, etc.): License holder can perform
the full scope of work of all
subclassifications within the primary
classification.

Subclassification (A-1; B-2; C-1(d), etc.):
License holder can only perform the scope
of work listed in the subclassification of
licensure.

If the scope of work falls into more than one
primary classification, the applicant must file
separate applications for licensure for each
primary classification.

If the scope of work falls into more than one
subclassification within the same primary
classification, all subclassifications can be
listed on the same application.

You can review the defined scopes of work using the links provided above to identify
the classification(s) that are best suited for your company.
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Qualified Individual(s) & Principals

Management Qualified Individual —
Responsible for taking and passing the
Nevada business and law exam.

Trade Qualified Individual — Responsible
for taking and passing relevant trade exams
and must meet work experience
requirements.
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Principals — Based on your business type
this will be the owner, partners, corporate
officers, or managing members of an LLC.

The Management and Trade Qualifiers can
be held by the same person or different
individuals. Those assuming these roles
must be a bona fide member or employee of
the applying company and willing to assume
the responsibilities identified in NRS
624.260.

Work Experience Requirements

The trade qualifier must have a minimum of
four years’ relevant work experience within
the past 15 years in the trade being applied
for.

Attempts to falsify or misrepresent work
experience is a violation of NRS 624.3016
and could result in denial of your application.

**Trade qualifiers who have served as a
gualified employee in the same classification
on a Nevada contractor’s license within the
past 5 years, may not be required to provide
the work experience information noted
below.

**Trade qualifiers who have requested to
have work experience endorsed based on
existing licensure in another state may not
have to provide the work experience
information noted below.

Certification of Work Experience Forms —
A minimum of four Certification of Work
Experience forms must be filled out by former
employers of the trade qualifier. If self-
employed, the forms can be completed by
past customers. Forms cannot be completed

by relatives of the trade qualifier unless the
individual served as the applicant’'s
employer.

Please note that each work experience form
does not need to demonstrate a four-year
period. The Board will add the time of
experience listed on each form to determine
the total time of experience meets the
minimum four-year requirement.

Resume of Experience — The Resume of
Experience must be completed by each
trade qualifier. The work experience should
align with the license classification being
applied for and include specific details
regarding the scopes of work performed.

Current Master’s Certification — Applicants
can submit a current Master’'s Certification
issued by a governmental agency to
demonstrate relevant work experience if the
discipline is substantially similar to the
requested classification.

Proof of Transferrable Military Experience
& Training — Applicants can submit
documents demonstrating relevant work
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experience for the requested classification
based on military training and experience
received. Visit the Board’s Military and
Veterans Assistance Program for assistance
on applying this experience to the license
requirements.
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Transferrable Education Credits -
Applicants can submit documentation from
an accredited college, university or
equivalent program accepted by the Board to
be applied toward up to three years of the
work experience requirements.

Licensure by Endorsement

Licensure by endorsement allows the
Nevada State Contractors Board to consider
an applicant's trade experience or trade
exam scores in states determined by Nevada
to have substantially similar requirements.

To be eligible, the applicant must be actively
licensed in another state for the past four
years, and cannot have any disciplinary
actions, suspensions, revocations, or other
sanctions against the license.

View the State Equivalency Chart to identify
states that qualify for endorsement of trade
experience and/or trade exam requirements.

Requesting Endorsement
e Complete the Licensure by
Endorsement  section of the
application.
e Submit the Request for License
Verification Form with the application.

Exams

Exams are not required until after an
application is submitted to the Board and the
gualifiers’ experience is verified. Once
experience is verified, the qualified
individual(s) will receive an Examination
Eligibility form with a Candidate ID number.

All Nevada contractor licensing exams are
administered by PSI.

Applicants will use the Exam Eligibility form
and their Candidate ID number to schedule
taking the exam with PSI.

You can contact PSI or visit the Board’s
website for exam reference materials, as well
as an exam content outline that includes the
subject areas to be covered in each exam

and the number of questions in each subject
area.

PSI Contact Information
WWW.pSsiexams.com
1-800-733-9267

Candidates have up to three times to pass
the required exams.

**|f applying for a B or B-2 license
classification, passage of the NASCLA
General Building exam may meet the trade
exam requirement, so be sure to include this
documentation at the time the application is
submitted.
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Monetary Limit

Monetary Limit — The maximum contract
value a licensed contractor may undertake
on one or more construction contracts on a
single construction site or subdivision site
for a single client.
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**Please note the total contract costs per
project cannot exceed the monetary limit of
the license. Licensees can request a
single-project limit increase or a permanent
limit increase once the license is issued.

Financial Statements

Financial statement requirements are based
on the monetary limit value being requested
on the application.

**Refer to the application for specific
financial statement requirements.

Financial Statement Criteria

¢ Financial statements must be for the
applying entity. Sole proprietors and
each general partner of a general
partnership must submit personal
statements.

e All statements must be in U.S. dollars.

e Business statements must include a
classified balance sheet.

e Personal statements should include a
supplemental schedule disclosing
working capital.

If preparing a self-prepared financial

statement and need assistance

understanding financial terms, documents,
or general small business requirements,
visit the Nevada Business Development

Center at http://nsbdc.org/ or call (800) 240-

7094

Indemnification Option — An
indemnification option allows the Board to
consider the financial strength of an
individual or entity in addition to the
applicant. See “Required Financial
Documents” in the application for
instructions on requesting this option.

Bond Information

PLEASE NOTE: Obtaining a bond is not
required until the contractor’s license is
ready to be issued.

Cash Bond — Cash bonds are held and
maintained by the Nevada State Contractors
Board.

Surety Bond — Surety bonds are issued by
insurance companies on a form approved by
the Board.
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Residential Pool & Spa Contractors

All residential pool and spa contractors are
required to adhere to additional
requirements in an effort to provide greater
protections to consumers during the course
of a project.

Applicants considering this line of work are
encouraged to read the complete statutory
and regulatory sections to best ensure
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compliance and an understanding of the
expectations required of this license:

e NRS 624.900 — 624.965

e NAC 624.695 — 624.697

You may also reference the Board'’s Taking
the Plunge: Contracting for a Pool or Spa
consumer brochure, which highlights some
of the statutory and regulatory requirements
for consumers to look for during their
project.

IMPORTANT REMINDERS

o Review Application for Accuracy — The applicant is responsible for the accuracy and
completeness of all information within the application. Ensure all section requirements are
met; required documents are compiled, organized, and complete; and proper signatures are
noted where directed on the application.

e Application Processing Times — All applications for licensure are processed in the order
received. Completeness and accuracy of information are contributing factors to processing
timeframes.

¢ Unlawful Contracting Activities — Please be mindful that applicants are not authorized to
bid projects or perform work that requires a Nevada contractor’s license during the
application process. Doing so is a violation of law (NRS 624.700) and could result in denial
of the license application.

Contact the Nevada State Contractors Board office with any questions or concerns during the
application process. A Licensing Analyst will be assigned to the applicant upon submission of
the contractor’s license application and will work directly with the applicant to gather additional
documents or clarifying information as necessary to determine if the license requirements are
met.

5
(Rev. 7/20 JL)


https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-624.html#NRS624Sec900
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-624.html#NAC624Sec695
http://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/pdfs/Brochures/pool%20brochure_4%20panel.pdf
http://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/pdfs/Brochures/pool%20brochure_4%20panel.pdf

