KENNY C. GUINN Reply To: LAS VEGAS
Governor State Of Nevada ePY IO 5310 Corporate Circle, Suite 200

Henderson, Nevada 89074
(702) 486-1100

MEMBERS Fax (702) 486-1190

Michael Zech, Chairman
Douglas W. Carson

Margaret Cavin

RENO
9670 Gateway Dr., Ste. 100
Reno, Nevada 89511
David W. Clark (775) 688-1141
Jerry Higgins Fax (775) 688-1271

Dg;gﬁyKéjﬁggf;” STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD . nsch.State.ny s
NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sonya Ruffin
April 11, 2002 702-486-1139

STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD TAKES DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST FIVE
CONTRACTORS

RENO, NV — At its meeting on April 9, 2002, the Nevada State Contractors Board

adjudicated cases against five licensed contractors.

Fashion Homes Inc., license number 37891 (Residential and Small Commercial) based out of
Elko, Nevada was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 624 for failure to pay for
materials or services; and failure to establish financial responsibility. The Board revoked the
license of Fashion Homes Inc.

William Hampton Harvey dba Harvey’s Excavating, license number 28974 (Excavating,
Grading, Trenching, Surfacing, Fencing and Guardrails) based out of Reno, Nevada was found
in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 624 for failure to pay for materials or services; failure to
establish financial responsibility; and failure to cooperate in the investigation of a complaint. The
Board revoked the license of William Hampton Harvey dba Harvey’s Excavating.

Silver West Developers, license number 51376 (Residential and Small Commercial) based out
of Sparks, Nevada was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 624 for failure to pay for
materials or services and failure to establish financial responsibility. The Board revoked the
license of Silver West Developers.

Gary P. LaChasse, license number 36149 (Residential and Small Commercial) based out of
Gardnerville, Nevada was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 624 for bidding in
excess of established license limit; failure to include license number and monetary limit on a
contract or proposal; failure to establish financial responsibility; failure to provide required
notices to homeowner; and failure to maintain bond. The Board revoked the license of Gary P.
LaChasse.

A Richards Built Home, license number 30828 (Residential and Small Commercial) based out
of Incline Village, Nevada was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 624 for bidding to
contract in excess of established license limit; failure to include monetary limit on a contract or
proposal; and failure to procure a performance bond required as a condition of the approval of a
one-time raise. The licensee was fined $2500 and assessed the cost of investigation.
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The Nevada State Contractors Board offers the following helpful tips for consumers

when working with contractors:
10 TIPS FOR MAKING SURE YOUR CONTRACTOR IS ON THE LEVEL

Hire only licensed contractors.

Check the contractor’s license number by calling 1-702-486-1100 in southern

Nevada or 1-775-688-1141 in northern Nevada or doing a License Check

by visiting our website at: www.nsch.state.nv.us

3. Get three references, and review past work.

4. Get at least three bids.

5. Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the terms.
6. Pay 10% down or $1000, whichever is less if a deposit is required.
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Don't let payments get ahead of work. Keep records of payments.
Don't make the final payment until you're satisfied with the job.

. Don't pay cash.

0. Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project

The Nevada State Contractors’ Board is committed to protecting the public’'s health, safety, and welfare through
licensing and regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to
disciplinary action by the Board for failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing
contractors. Violations may result in Board action against the contractor’s license. The State Contractors Board has
the power to regulate contractors and discipline licensees who violate NRS 624. Disciplinary action may consist of a

fine of up to $10,000 per offense, order corrective action, suspension, revocation or other action.

The Board will convene next in Henderson, NV on April 23 and 24, 2002.



