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STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD TAKES DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST 
TWO CONTRACTORS 

 

 RENO, NV – At its meeting June 4, 2002, the Nevada State Contractors Board 

adjudicated cases against 2 licensed contractors. 

 
Daniel Frank Cheney dba Dan Cheney Primary Color, license number 42728 
(Painting) based out of Carson City, Nevada was found in violation of Nevada Revised 
Statute 624 for substandard workmanship; failure to comply with a notice to correct; 
failure to establish financial responsibility; failure to include license number and 
monetary limit on a contract or proposal; willful disregard for plans or specifications; 
failure to report to the Board a change in address or personnel; and abandonment of a 
construction project. The Board revoked the license of Dan Cheney Primary Color. 

 
Rechel & Sons, license number 46705 (Residential and Small Commercial) based out 
of Fallon, Nevada was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statute 624 for bidding or 
contracting in excess of established license limit. A one-year letter of reprimand was 
placed in licensee’s file and licensee was assessed the cost of investigation. 

 
The Nevada State Contractors Board offers the following helpful tips for consumers when 
dealing with contractors: 
 

 10 TIPS FOR MAKING SURE YOUR CONTRACTOR IS ON THE LEVEL 
 

1. Hire only licensed contractors. 
2. Check the contractor’s license number by calling 1-702-486-1100 in southern  

Nevada or 1-775-688-1141 in northern Nevada or doing a License Check  
by visiting our website at: www.nscb.state.nv.us 

3. Get three references, and review past work. 
4. Get at least three bids. 
5. Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the terms. 
6. Pay 10% down or $1000, whichever is less if a deposit is required. 
7. Don’t let payments get ahead of work.  Keep records of payments. 
8. Don’t make the final payment until you’re satisfied with the job. 
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9. Don’t pay cash.  
10. Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project. 

 
 The Nevada State Contractors Board is committed to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare 

through licensing and regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to 

disciplinary action by the Board for failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing 

contractors.   Violations may result in Board action against the contractor’s license.  The State Contractors Board has 

the power to regulate contractors and discipline licensees who violate NRS 624.  Disciplinary action may consist of a 

fine of up to $10,000 per offense, order corrective action, suspension, revocation or other action. 

 

The Board will convene next in Henderson, NV on June 18, 2002. 


