
STATE CONTRACTORS’ BOARD TAKES DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST

TWO CONTRACTORS

RENO, NV – At its meeting on June 5, 2001, the Nevada State Contractors’ Board adjudicated

cases against two licensed contractors.

______________________________________________________________________

John Fritz Construction, license number 25966 (Residential and Small Commercial) based out of

Reno, NV, was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 624 for substandard

workmanship. A one-year letter of reprimand was placed in the file and the licensee was assessed

the cost of investigation.

_____________________________________________________________________

M.B. Lewis Construction Inc., license number 39667A (Residential and Small Commercial) based

out of Fallon, NV was found in violation of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 624 for

substandard workmanship; contracting beyond the scope of a license; failure to comply with a notice

to correct; and failure to include the monetary limit on a contract or proposal.  The Board revoked the

license of M. B. Lewis Construction Inc.

The Nevada State Contractors Board offers the following helpful tips for consumers when dealing with

contractors:

 10 TIPS FOR MAKING SURE YOUR CONTRACTOR IS ON THE LEVEL

1. Hire only licensed contractors.
2. Check the contractor’s license number by calling 1-702-486-1100 in southern

Nevada or 1-775-688-1141 in northern Nevada or doing a License Check
by visiting our website at: www.state.nv.us/nscb/.

3. Get three references, and review past work.
4. Get at least three bids.
5. Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the terms.
6. Pay 10% down or $1000, whichever is less if a deposit is required.
7. Don’t let payments get ahead of work.  Keep records of payments.
8. Don’t make the final payment until you’re satisfied with the job.
9. Don’t pay cash.
10. Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project.

The Nevada State Contractors’ Board is committed to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare through licensing and

regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to disciplinary action by the Board for

failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing contractors.   Violations may result in Board action against

the contractor’s license.  The State Contractors’ Board has the power to regulate contractors and discipline licensees who violate NRS

624.  Disciplinary action may consist of a fine of up to $10,000 per offense, order corrective action, suspension, revocation or other

action.



The Board will convene next in Las Vegas, NV on June 19, 2001.


