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FRAUDULANT CONTRACTOR SENTENCED  

ON 49 FELONY COUNTS 

 

On August 1st Frank Hall dba Curtis Construction pled guilty and was sentenced on forty-nine (49) felony 

counts, and four (4) misdemeanor counts involving fraudulent contracting activity. Mr. Hall’s charges 

include felony charges of Obtaining Money Under False Pretenses, Diversion of Funds, and Theft; as 

well as Gross Misdemeanor charge of Use of False Permit, License or Diploma. Mr. Hall was accused of 

illegally purchasing Curtis Construction a licensed contractor and unlawfully engaging in the construction 

industry under the Curtis Construction license. 

 

The courts sentenced Mr. Hall to 5 years probation and ordered him to pay over $403,694.76 of 

Restitution to his victims, in monthly payments of $7,481 within the first fifty-four (54) months of 

probation. Pleading guilty to all counts, Mr. Hall also signed a civil confession of judgment, and agreed 

not to perform any contracting work, own any contracting business or operate as an employee, agent, 

shareholder, manager or officer of any business which engages in contracting in the state of Nevada. 

 

This case is a prime example of the Board’s commitment to its mission of protecting the safety and 

welfare of the public. The Board has no tolerance for construction fraud and will continue to prosecute 

this type of case to the full extent of its resources. Hall’s illegal actions resulted in numerous claims on 

the Residential Recovery Fund amounting to approximately $700,000 in losses. 
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At Residential Recovery Fund hearings in December of 2004 and July of 2005 a total of $400,000 was 

awarded to the seventy-one (71) victims of Curtis Construction as partial settlement for their claims. The 

Residential Recovery Fund was established by the Legislature in 1999 to compensate homeowners which 

have been harmed by unscrupulous contractors. All licensed Residential Contractors pay and annual 

assessment into the fund for the protection of the homeowner. 

 

The Contractors Board suggests the following ten tips when hiring contractors: 

1. Hire only licensed contractors. 

2. Check the contractors’ license number by calling the Nevada State Contractors Board at (775) 
688-1141 in northern Nevada or (702) 486-1100 in southern Nevada; or by doing a license check 
on our website, www.nscb.state.nv.us.  

3. Get three references and review past work. 

4. Get at least three bids. 

5. Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the terms. 

6. For pool contracts, pay 10% down or $1,000 – whichever is less, if a deposit is required. 

7. Don’t let payments get ahead of the work. Keep a record of all payments. 

8. Don’t make a final payment until you are satisfied with the job. 

9. Don’t pay cash. 

10. Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project. 
 

Additional information regarding the Residential Recovery Fund and other services provided by the 

Nevada State Contractors Board may be obtained through www.nscb.state.nv.us or by calling (775) 688-

1141 in northern Nevada or (702) 486-1100 in southern Nevada. 

 

 

The Nevada State Contractors Board is committed to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare through licensing and 
regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to disciplinary action by the 
Board for failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing contractors.   Violations may result in 
Board action against the contractor’s license.  The State Contractors Board has the power to regulate contractors and 
discipline licensees who violate NRS 624.  Disciplinary action may consist of a fine of up to $10,000 per offense, order 
corrective action, suspension, revocation or other action. 
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