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-CONSUMER ALERT-  
UNMARKED CONSTRUCTION VEHICLES 

 
 
The Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) warns consumers about contractors 

performing work in the Las Vegas area, while using white unmarked vehicles 

 

Within the past three weeks, the NSCB has received reports of numerous white unmarked 

vehicles being used by a contractor, to perform plumbing, heating, refrigeration and air 

conditioning repairs in the Las Vegas Valley.  

 

Nevada law requires all licensed contractors to display their name and license number on 

their vehicles, so consumers will know who they are dealing with, and to give consumers 

the opportunity to properly check out their contractor. 

 

Legitimate contractors will proudly display their names and license numbers on their 

vehicles as a form of advertising to keep consumers aware of their business.  Contractors 

who hide their identity when dealing with the public are generally engaging in 

construction fraud, and are attempting to avoid responsibility for their actions.   

 

Unmarked vehicles are a sure sign of unlicensed contracting activity and should be 

immediately reported to the NSCB at 702-486-1160 in Las Vegas or 775-850-7838 in the 

Reno area.  
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Homeowners who use the services of an unlicensed contractor are not eligible for 

recovery of their damages through the Residential Recovery Fund and may limit their 

civil remedies if the work is unsatisfactory.  

 

If your contractor’s vehicle is unmarked, you should immediately contact the offices of the NSCB. 

 

The NSCB urges consumers to hire only licensed contractors in good standing with the 

Board. Consumers can verify contractors’ licenses and obtain helpful tips for working 

with contractors by calling (775) 688-1141 in northern Nevada or (702) 486-1100 in 

southern Nevada. Licenses can be verified 24 hours a day by logging on to 

www.nscb.state.nv.us.  

  
The Contractors Board suggests the following ten tips when hiring contractors: 

1. Hire only licensed contractors. 

2. Check the contractors’ license number by calling the Nevada State Contractors 
Board at (775) 688-1141 in northern Nevada or (702) 486-1100 in southern Nevada; 
or by doing a license check on our website, www.nscb.state.nv.us.  

3. Get three references and review past work. 
4. Get at least three bids. 
5. Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the 

terms. 
6. For pool contracts, pay 10% down or $1,000 – whichever is less, if a deposit is 

required. 
7. Don’t let payments get ahead of the work. Keep a record of all payments. 
8. Don’t make a final payment until you are satisfied with the job. 
9. Don’t pay cash. 
10. Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project. 


