
Art Nadler, 
Public Information Officer 

 (702) 486-1100 x1139 
or (775) 688-1141 x1139 

     Nevada State Contractors Board 

NEWS RELEASE  
 

  www.nscb.state.nv.us 
 

 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 

 

 
GILLETTE ADDED TO NSCB’S TEN MOST WANTED 

 
 

John R. Gillette has been added to the Nevada State Contractors Board’s 

Ten Most Wanted. Gillette currently has two misdemeanor warrants 

issued on him from Justice Court in Las Vegas for contracting without a 

contractor’s license, one felony and one gross misdemeanor charge for 

diversion of money and one gross misdemeanor charge for violation of NRS 624 for 

unauthorized use of a business license.  

 

The Special Investigations Unit of the Nevada State Contractors Board is hard at work tracking 

and citing offenders and informing the public of their rights and responsibilities. To assist in 

prosecuting illegal contracting, the Nevada State Contractors Board has launched an online “Ten 

Most Wanted.” Individuals listed on the Ten Most Wanted website pages are those who have 

outstanding arrest warrants for unlicensed contracting activity. Contractors and members of the 

public can go online at www.nscb.state.nv.us and click “Ten Most Wanted” on the quick-link 

menu to review suspect’s profiles. The website includes contact numbers to provide information 

about the individuals profiled. 

-- more -- 
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Homeowners who use the services of a revoked or suspended contractor are not eligible 

for recovery of their damages through the Residential Recovery Fund. The NSCB urges 

the public to hire only licensed contractors in good standing with the Board. Consumers 

can verify contractors’ licenses and obtain helpful tips for working with contractors by 

calling (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada, or (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada. 

Licenses can be verified 24 hours a day by logging on to www.nscb.state.nv.us.  

 

The NSCB urges consumers to follow these simple tips when dealing with a contractor: 
 
• Hire only licensed contractors. Ask to see the license. 

• Don’t rush into decisions or hire without checking out potential contractors. 

• Be especially wary when approached by someone offering home improvements door-to door. 

• Verify the contractor’s licensed by checking online at www.nscb.state.nv.us or via automated 

phone service at (702) 486-1100 (Southern Nevada), or (775) 688-1141 (Northern Nevada). 

• Ensure the contractor is properly licensed for the work you want done on your home. 

• Limit the amount of your down payment or deposit to 10 percent of the total contract. 

• Don’t pay cash without obtaining signed receipts, and don’t let the payments get ahead of the 

work. 
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