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Former Top 10 Most Wanted Unlicensed Contractor
Thomas Fico Sentenced to Prison

Thomas Fico, a local unlicensed landscape contractor who at one time
was on the Nevada State Contractors Board Top 10 Most Wanted list,
| was sentenced March 27, 2006, to serve concurrent terms in the

Nevada State Prison of 18 to 48 months for the felony crimes of

contracting without a license and 28 to 72 months for diversion of funds and obtaining
money under false pretenses.

Fico’s cases were investigated by the Special Investigations Unit of the Nevada
State Contractors Board, and he was arrested by Henderson police on the outstanding
warrants. Unlicensed contracting is a crime in Nevada. The first offense is a
misdemeanor, the second a gross misdemeanor and the third a Class E felony.

The Special Investigations Unit of the Nevada State Contractors Board is hard at
work tracking and citing offenders and informing the public of their rights and
responsibilities. To assist in prosecuting illegal contracting, the Nevada State Contractors
Board has launched an online “Ten Most Wanted.” Individuals listed on the Ten Most
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Wanted website pages are those who have outstanding arrest warrants for unlicensed
contracting activity. Contractors and members of the public can go online to
www.nsch.state.nv.us and click “Ten Most Wanted” on the quick-link menu to review
suspect’s profiles. The website includes contact numbers to provide information about the
individuals profiled.

Homeowners who use the services of a revoked or suspended contractor are not
eligible for recovery of their damages through the Residential Recovery Fund. The NSCB
urges the public to hire only licensed contractors in good standing with the Board.
Consumers can verify contractors’ licenses and obtain helpful tips for working with
contractors by calling (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada, or (702) 486-1100 in
Southern Nevada. Licenses can be verified 24 hours a day by logging on to

www.nsch.state.nv.us.

The NSCB urges consumers to follow these simple tips when dealing with a contractor:

* Hire only licensed contractors. Ask to see the license.
» Don’t rush into decisions or hire without checking out potential contractors.

* Be especially wary when approached by someone offering home improvements door-to door.
« Verify the contractor’s licensed by checking online at www.nsch.state.nv.us or via automated
phone service at (702) 486-1100 (Southern Nevada), or (775) 688-1141 (Northern Nevada).

* Ensure the contractor is properly licensed for the work you want done on your home.
« Limit the amount of your down payment or deposit to 10 percent of the total contract.
» Don’t pay cash without obtaining signed receipts, and don’t let the payments get ahead of the
work.
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