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High Winds and Damaged Homes;  

Contractors Board Cautions Homeowners of Unlicensed Contractor Solicitations 
 
HENDERSON, Nev. – The Nevada State Contractors Board cautions Southern Nevada homeowners 

of unlicensed contractors conducting door-to-door solicitations to perform repairs to wind damaged 

homes.  It is a criminal offense to contract without a license in the State of Nevada and can result in 

misdemeanor or felony charges.  Unlicensed contractors often do not carry workman’s compensation 

insurance, have not passed trade or law exams, and homeowners who contract with an unlicensed 

contractor are not eligible for the Residential Recovery Fund should workmanship issues arise.   

 

“Unexpected damages to a home can be emotionally and financially stressful for a homeowner,” 

explained Margi A. Grein, NSCB Executive Officer.  “It is at these moments that homeowners are most 

vulnerable to contractor scams, which is why due diligence in researching and hiring a licensed 

contractor is so vital.” 

 

Homeowners who come into contact with individuals believed to be unlicensed contractors are 

encouraged to report all information received to the NSCB Unlicensed Contractor Hotline at:  (702) 

486-1160. 

 

NSCB is a Homeowner’s Resource 

• Submit a scope of work in writing to the Board to obtain guidance on the appropriate license 

classification needed for a given project. 

• Contact the Board to seek guidance on the process of hiring licensed contractors. 

• Report unscrupulous activities or advertisements by individuals believed to be unlicensed 

contractors. 

• File construction claims with the Board for a full investigation into the alleged problems. 

• Apply to the Residential Recovery Fund to seek recourse up to $35,000 (must be eligible). 
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Tips for Hiring a Licensed Contractor 

1. Ask for the contractor’s license number and verify it on NSCB’s website:  www.nscb.nv.gov or by 

calling NSCB’s office at (702) 486-1100 or (775) 688-1141. 

2. Obtain at least three bids prior to making your decision. 

3. Ask for references from each contractor and follow up with them to verify the quality and 

timeliness of the work previously performed for those customers. 

4. Make sure your contract is as detailed as possible, including type/color of materials, payment 

schedules, etc. 

5. Never sign a contract until you understand all the terms and agreements. 

6. Always obtain a receipt when payment is made.  It is advised never to pay in cash – only check or 

credit card.   

7. Request lien releases after each phase of the project is complete. 

8. Don’t let the payments get ahead of the work. 

9. Report any suspicious activities to the Contractors Board at (702) 486-1160. 

 
Filing a Construction Complaint with the Board 

Homeowners who are experiencing damages to their home, which are believed to be the result of 

substandard work from a licensed contractor, within a four-year period of the work being performed 

may file a claim with NSCB by filling out the form online at:  

http://www.nscb.nv.gov/pdfs/Forms/Consumer%20Info%20Form%20and%20Instructions.pdf.  

NSCB investigates all complaints, performing site visits, interviews with the homeowner and 

contractor, and determines if the evidence warrants correction by the contractor.  Cases are generally 

closed within 90 days of receipt of the complaint. 

 
Residential Recovery Fund 

The Residential Recovery Fund was established by the Nevada Legislature in 1999.  It offers 

protection to Nevada owners of single-family residences who conduct business with licensed 

contractors for the performance of any construction, remodeling, repair or improvement.  An owner 

must occupy the residence to qualify.  An applicant’s eligibility to receive funds is determined after an 

investigation is conducted by NSCB.  The Fund was designed to assist in providing relief to 

homeowners, when they have been damaged by licensed contractors. 
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STAY CONNECTED 
 
Visit our website and register for e-mail alerts:  www.nscb.nv.gov   

Join our social media network to receive current industry updates:      
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